top of page

Weight Training

I've mentioned before in previous posts that there are many types of physical activities to engage in. I use weight training as my primary source of physical activity. That is, I lift weights. Yes, I get myself out there with the big boys and pump some iron!

I know what you're thinking, "She must be one of those crazy women bodybuilders. . .she probably looks like a man." Wrong! On the contrary, I am an averaged sized 5'5" 135lb woman thank you very much! However, I don't want to just loose fat, I want to gain muscle.

Fit is the new skinny, and I want to be both! I told you I'm an overachiever. Skinny leaves you soft and (sometimes) weak. Weight training counteracts that.

In addition to giving you the hard defined look, don't lie you know you want it, weight training also improves your day to day life. It increases your physical strength, (I can open the pickle jar by myself now!) helps with bone density, and lowers your body fat content.

"Bulking up" because you're weight training is a misconception. Nine out of ten times no matter how hard you work, you will never look like Arnold (said in Arnold voice) without using steroids. But you will tone up your body and look sexy as hell.

When I first started working out I had a five day per week regimen that looked something like this;

Day 1: Upper Body

Day 2: Lower Body

Day 3: Upper Body

Day 4: Lower Body

Day 5: Abs

Currently, I am still working on a five day regimen though I've changed it up a little;

Day 1: Chest and Triceps

Day 2: Back and Biceps

Day 3: Shoulders

Day 4: Legs

Day 5: Cardio and Abs

With this new schedule I am able to work each muscle group a little harder to really gain strength and definition.

More often than not cardio is considered the devil in the eyes of a bodybuilder. This is mostly because cardio burns fat and muscle. Think about it, most runners are very thin, not muscular or defined (besides their legs). Bodybuilders don't want to risk loosing even an ounce of the muscle they've worked so hard to gain.

However, there are some benefits of cardio coupled with weight training. Cardiovascular activity is good for the heart, everyone knows that, but it also helps with muscle repair. When you engage in running, cycling, etc. your heart pumps blood to all areas of your body. Your blood has the nutrients needed to help your muscles start to repair.

Now, like I said before I'm not trying to bulk up. I'm just trying to be healthy and get some killer muscle definition and tone. So, I try to add some cardio to a few of my workout sessions each week. I figure there is no point in having a smoking hot body if my heart isn't healthy enough to keep me alive to show it off.

I'm no runner so I tend to keep my cardio sessions short and sweet. I try to run at least a 1/2 mile two to three times a week. I am slowly progressing to further distances as I increase my endurance. However, that is a work in progress. (I'll keep you updated)

There are other endless options of physical activity. I actually want to try a lot of them, and I'll let you know when I do. But for now I'm going to stick to weight training and light cardio. I know it works and I've seen the results. Don't let the misconception of strength training stop you from giving it a try.

bottom of page